Lincoln, Neb. – At the annual Nebraska State Dairy Association convention on February 27th, several dairy producers and supporters of the dairy industry received recognition for their work and support. This year Chad Moyer received the Distinguished Service Award, Brett Beavers and Bill Demerath were co-presented the Dairyman of the Year Awards, Steve Kyser received the Service Award from the Nebraska Holstein Association, and Milk Quality and Production awards were presented to ten dairy producers.

Chad Moyer, KTIC Radio, was presented the Distinguished Service Award, for his efforts to promote the dairy industry.  Chad uses every opportunity to promote the dairy industry, at events and open houses.  About a year and a half ago, Chad started the Nebraska Dairy Update, which provides an opportunity to share Nebraska dairy news, from the checkoff, dairy extension and state association. The Nebraska Dairy Update airs every other Friday on KTIC radio.

Co-Dairyman of the Year Awards were presented to Brett Beavers, Carleton, Neb., and Bill Demerath, Plainview, Neb, for their efforts to bring automatic milking systems (AMS)  to Nebraska. This pair spent nearly 4 years researching and studying the robotic industry before a dealer was established in Nebraska, and they became the first two farms in the state to install the automatic milking systems – milking robots. Since then, interest has continued to grow for the AMS system and a third AMS dairy began using milking robots in Creston, Neb at Larson Farms and other dairy producers are making plans to install AMS units.

The Nebraska Holstein Association presented their Service Award to Steve Kyser of Beatrice, for his long-term efforts to promote and support the Nebraska’s dairy industry.

Milk Quality and Production were also recognized at the annual convention. Dairies are given the opportunity to submit entries through DHIA of the Heartland. The top milk quality awards were presented to Todd Tuls and Butler County Dairy, Jake Stern and the Hodorff’s from Broken Bow Dairy, and Murman Dairy at Fairfield. The Milk Production Awards were presented to Broken Bow Dairy, Steffview Dairy and Hochstein Dairy in the Holstein division, Meyer’s Dairy in the Jersey division and Nuttelman Dairy, Crook Dairy and Steffen Ag, Inc in the crossbred/mixed division.

For more information about these awards, for pictures and other dairy information, contact Rod Johnson at 402-853-2028 or